Major Author Reading Series Returns on October 24

Helen Phillips and Sarah Grieve will discuss their writing on campus.

Profile photo of Helen PhillipsNational Book Award nominee Helen Phillips (right) and poet and professor Sarah Grieve will headline the fall semester’s Major Author Reading Series at Manhattan College. 

Phillips will read and discuss her work on Thursday, October 24 at 6:30 p.m. Grieve will visit campus on Thursday, November 7 at 6:30 p.m. Both events will be held in room 100 of Hayden Hall.

Helen Phillips's fifth book, the novel The Need, was published in 2019 by Simon & Schuster in the U.S., and by Chatto & Windus in the U.K. Phillips has received the 2017 John Gardner Fiction Book Award for her short story selection, Some Possible Solutions (Henry Holt, 2016), and her novel The Beautiful Bureaucrat (Henry Holt, 2015), a New York Times Notable Book of 2015, was a finalist for the New York Public Library's Young Lions Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

Sarah Grieve smiling in front of a wallSarah Grieve’s chapbook Honey My Tongue was published in 2014 by Palooka Press and her first collection Winged was published by Finishing Line Press in 2017.  Grieve’s poems have appeared in Waxwing, Cimarron Review, Bayou and Missouri Review Online, among others. She’s currently translating (with a co-translator) a selected group of poems by an early 20th century Italian poet. Her dissertation discusses how Modernist American women poets (Lola Ridge, Muriel Rukeyser, Gwendolyn Brooks, and Elizabeth Bishop) write poetry of witness to social and environmental tragedies. Her article “Environmental Justice Witnessing in Muriel Rukeyser’s The Book of the Dead” has recently been published in ISLE. She is a professor at Cuesta College in San Luis Obispo, California. 

The Major Author Reading Series is designed to engage and expose students to contemporary literature. Since the series launched in 2010, it has brought several notable writers to campus for readings and book signings, including Pulitzer Prize winners Junot Díaz, Jennifer Egan, Claudia Emerson and Adam Johnson.

All events are free and open to the public. For more information, contact Dominika Wrozynski, associate professor of English, at or Adam Koehler, associate professor of English, at

By Pete McHugh