De La Salle Medal Dinner

The De La Salle Medal Dinner honors executives who exemplify Lasallian principles of excellence, corporate leadership, and service to society.

dls medalManhattan College’s 2016 De La Salle Medal was presented to Gary R. Heminger, president and chief executive officer of Marathon Petroleum Corporation, on January 21.

A member of the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies, Heminger is chairman emeritus of Tiffin University and also serves on the board of directors of Fifth Third Bancorp and JobsOhio. His commitment to his career and creating opportunities for others made him an excellent recipient for this award.

Thanks to Heminger, the 2016 dinner committee, and the many generous supporters of this event, a record $1.75 million was raised for student priorities such as scholarship funds and financial aid.


Gary R. Heminger
President and Chief Executive Officer
Marathon Petroleum Corporation

Dinner Chair

Thomas D. O’Malley ’63
Executive Chairman, PBF Energy

Vice Chairs

Cyrus J. Izzo ’87, P.E.
Co-President, Syska Hennessy Group

James A. Kosch ’77, Esq.
Partner, McCarter & English, LLP

John V. Magliano ’66, P.E.
Chairman Emeritus, Syska Hennessy Group, Inc.

Charles Manning ’73
Senior Vice President, AECOM

Rosanne Thomas Matzat ’82, Esq. 
Partner, Hahn & Hessen, LLP

Michael M. McHugh ’80
Executive Vice President, Moretrench

Kenneth Rathgeber ’70
Chairman, Manhattan College Board of Trustees

Milo E. Riverso ’81, Ph.D., P.E.

Chief Executive Officer and President, STV Group, Inc.

Anthony J. Scala, Jr., ’74, P.E.
President, Lowy & Donnath Inc.

Patricia M. Scanlon ’92, LEED AP, BD+C
Partner, Longman Lindsey

Stephen J. Squeri ’81
Group President, Global Corporate Services, American Express

Brendan P. Weiden ’79, P.E.
Partner, Jaros, Baum & Bolles

Curt C. Zegler ’93
Project Executive, Turner Construction Company

Pat Doman
Consultant, PBF Energy

Honorary Chairs

Rudolph W. Giuliani ’65, Esq.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Giuliani Partners
Former Mayor of New York City

Raymond W. Kelly ’63, Esq.
President, Risk Management Services, Cushman & Wakefield
Former Commissioner, New York City Police Department

Eugene R. McGrath ’63
Retired Chairman and CEO, Consolidated Edison Co. of New York

Frederic V. Salerno ’65
Chairman, GGCP Retired Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer, Verizon