Senior Class Gift

The Senior Class Gift is a time-honored tradition at Manhattan, and the first chance for graduating seniors to collectively leave their legacy.

Father HillThis year’s gift is an endowed scholarship in memory of Father George Hill, the College’s long-serving chaplain, who passed away in September 2016.

A respected and beloved member of the Manhattan community for nine years, Father Hill presided over many of the College’s Catholic services, including Sunday Mass and holy days. He began a weekly meditation program that became highly popular with students, and traveled with a number of the Jaspers’ intercollegiate athletics teams all across the country.

Father Hill came to Manhattan College in 2007 after 10 years as the parochial vicar at St. Raymond’s parish in the Bronx. A licensed mental health counselor in New York State, Father Hill also provided therapy out of an office at St. Bernard’s parish in Greenwich Village, and served as a chaplain and bereavement counselor at the Bailey House in Harlem, where he worked with patients suffering from HIV and AIDS.

The class of 2017 chose to dedicate their gift to Father Hill as a tribute to the countless lives he touched. President Brennan O’Donnell shared, “He was a wise counselor, a gentle spiritual guide, and a loving friend to students and colleagues alike. Father George will be sorely missed in our daily life on campus; but we take comfort in our faith that he is present among us whenever we follow his example and ‘do justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with our God.’”

The Senior Class Gift Committee’s mission is to educate their fellow peers about the importance of philanthropy and giving back to the institution that gave so much to them. The committee hosted the Senior Class Gift Reception where seniors who donated at least $20.17 came together to celebrate the countdown to Commencement. As a result, more than 200 students raised over $6,000 to establish the Father George Hill Memorial Scholarship at Manhattan College.

2017 Senior Class Gift Committee Members

  • Gianna DelGiorno
  • Kelly Freeman
  • Patrick Keegan
  • Julia McKee
  • Monica Panyu
  • Dorian Persaud
  • Margaret Ryan
  • Madison Swenton