The School of Science has a reputation for faculty who regularly publish in highly respected professional journals and present their research at conferences around the country. This reputation has also enabled the school to receive major grant funding from the Pew Charitable Trusts, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and NASA, through the NASA/New York Space Grant Consortium. Students and professors can be seen together working on research and other projects outside of the classroom, and students who work with professors on this research often have the opportunity to publish as co-authors and present at conferences alongside their professors. Small class sizes give students the opportunity to build strong relationships with faculty that last well beyond graduation.

Full-Time Faculty


Leo M Alves, PHD
Gerardo Carfagno, PHD
Lance Evans, PHD
Michael Judge, PHD
Quentin Machingo, PHD
Ghislaine Mayer, PHD
Bruce Shockey, PHD
Rekha Yesudas, PHD

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Joseph Capitani, PHD
Jianwei Fan, PHD
Yelda Hangun-Balkir, PHD
Gary Kolks, PHD
James McCullagh, PHD
John R Regan, PHD
Suzanne Rudnick, PHD
Alexander C. Santulli, PHD
John Wasacz, PHD
Bryan Wilkins, PHD
Lindsay Zack, PHD

Computer Science

Ankur Agrawal, PHD
Kashifuddin M. Qazi
Tina Tian, PHD


Marvin Bishop, PHD
Mark DeBonis, PHD
Rosemary C. Farley, PHD
Ira Gerhardt, PHD
Richard J. Goldstone, PHD
Andrew Greene, PHD
Sr. Joan Harnett, PHD
Carol M. Hurwitz, PHD
Matthew A. Jura, PHD
Janet McShane, PHD
Angel Pineda, PHD
Thomas Smith, PHD
Robert Suzzi Valli, PHD
Patrice Tiffany, EDD
Helene R. Tyler, PHD
Lawrence Udeigwe, PHD
Kathryn Weld, PHD


Edward B Brown, PHD
Sezar Fesjian, PHD
Rostislav Konoplich, PHD
Veronique Lankar, PHD
Bruce Liby, PHD
Lubna Tumeh, PHD