Honor Societies

School of Arts students who excel in their academic achievements have the opportunity to join any number of prestigious, well-respected honor societies, each with their own specific criteria for entrance.

Epsilon Sigma Pi

Our oldest college-wide honor society, Epsilon Sigma Pi, is open to high-achieving students in all academic areas at Manhattan College. Students who have completed six consecutive semesters with a cumulative scholarship index of at least 3.50 and have no D's or F's are eligible. See the course catalog for full eligibility details. 
Moderator: William Clyde

Phi Beta Kappa

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is dedicated to the idea of excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. The Manhattan College chapter, the Upsilon of New York, was established in 1971. Election to Phi Beta Kappa is generally regarded as a mark of the highest distinction.
Dr. Michael Grabowski, Moderator

Lambda Pi Eta (Communication)

Lambda Pi Eta is the international honor’s society for students of communication who attain outstanding scholastic achievement in the field. Its purpose is both to encourage students to explore the communications field and to promote their professional development. To qualify, undergraduates must be juniors or seniors, have a minimum grade point average of 3.25 in communications courses, and have at least a 3.0 GPA in all courses.
Dr. Rebecca Kern, Moderator

Sigma Tau Delta (English)

Sigma Tau Delta was founded at Dakota Wesleyan College in 1924 “to encourage the writing of and appreciation of literature.” Manhattan’s Beta Pi chapter of Sigma Tau Delta continues that tradition by honoring distinguished students and scholars “who have realized accomplishments in either the linguistics or the literature of the English language.”
Dr. Maeve Adams, Moderator

Pi Delta Phi (French)

Pi Delta Phi was founded at Berkeley in 1906. Currently, there are more than 330 chapters. To be admitted to the society, a student must be a junior or senior, have completed five college courses in French with a grade of B or better, and be in the top 35 percent of his or her class. Membership is a public recognition of outstanding academic achievement in French.
Dr. Nevart Wanger, Moderator

Phi Alpha Theta (History)

Phi Alpha Theta was founded at the University of Arkansas in 1921. It has more than 650 chapters and a membership of 111,000. It recognizes and encourages excellence in the study of history. To qualify, undergraduates must be juniors or seniors, rank in the upper third of their class, have a minimum of 12 credits in history, and have a B or better in two-thirds of their other courses. The Manhattan College chapter, Delta Theta, was inaugurated in 1951.
Dr. Julie Leininger Pycior, Moderator

Sigma Iota Rho (International Studies)

Sigma Iota Rho was established in 1987 to recognize outstanding achievement in the field of international studies. The Beta Eta chapter at Manhattan College was founded in 1999 to honor distinguished students of international studies and “to foster active interest and participation in world affairs.”
Dr. David Shefferman, Moderator

Pi Sigma Alpha (Political Science)

Pi Sigma Alpha, founded in 1920, currently has more than 600 chapters at leading collegiate institutions in the United States. Chapters receive into membership students of government, political science, public administration and international relations who attain high standards of scholarship and academic distinction both in political science and other academic work. Inductees must have a minimum of 18 credits in government and politics with grades of A or B, and be ranked in the upper third of their graduating class. The Manhattan College chapter, Omicron Epsilon, was incorporated in 1984.
Dr. Winsome Downie, Moderator

Phi Sigma Tau (Philosophy)

Phi Sigma Tau was founded in 1930 to promote student research and advanced study in philosophy and to recognize students having high scholarship and personal interest in the field. Manhattan College’s New York Pi chapter was chartered in September 2001.
Dr. David Bollert, Moderator

Psi Chi (Psychology)

Psi Chi was founded in 1929 to encourage, stimulate and maintain scholarship in the science of psychology. Psi Chi is an affiliate of the American Psychological Association. The society honors outstanding accomplishments among students of psychology.
Dr. Martha Mendez-Baldwin, Moderator

Theta Alpha Kappa (Religious Studies)

Theta Alpha Kappa, founded in 1975 at Manhattan College, seeks to honor and encourage excellence in research, teaching, publication and thoughtful exchange among students of religious studies and theology.
Dr. Jawanza Clark, Moderator

Alpha Kappa Delta (Sociology)

Alpha Kappa Delta was founded in 1920 at the University of Southern California. The name of the society implies social research for the purpose of service. Currently, there are 291 chapters dedicated to promoting outstanding scholarship in sociology, research into social problems, and other social and intellectual activities that will lead to the improvement of the human condition.
Dr. Ricardo Dello Buono, Moderator

Sigma Delta Pi (Spanish)

Sigma Delta Pi honors those who attain excellence in the study of the Spanish language and in the study of the literature and culture of Spanish-speaking people, and those who aspire to make Hispanic contributions to modern culture better known to English-speaking people. The society encourages students to acquire a greater interest in and deeper understanding of Hispanic culture, and fosters friendly relations and mutual respect between the nations of Hispanic speech and those of English speech.
Dr. Evelyn Scaramella, Moderator