Services & Contacts for Veterans

Assistant Vice-President for Student Affairs

Emmanuel “Sonny” Ago, Ed.D.
Thomas Hall, 2nd Floor  | 718-862-7996  | emmanuel.ago@manhattan.edu

Certifying Official

Agnes Flynn
Memorial Hall 200 | 718-862-7352 | agnes.flynn@manhattan.edu

After proceeding with an application for admission to Manhattan College, please forward your certificate of eligibility to Manhattan College’s VA certifying official, Agnes Flynn.  The College will receive direct payment from the Department of Veterans Affairs in the amount of both the GI Bill Benefit (Ch. 33) as well as the Yellow Ribbon Program matching portion.

Admissions

Michael Petri, Director of Transfer Admissions
O’Malley, 6th Floor | 718-862-7299 | michael.petri@manhattan.edu

Provides support for any veteran who is transferring credit from other institution(s).  He will also help with basic information on the steps of the admissions process.

Student Financial Aid

Christina Cardinale, Assistant Bursar
Miguel Hall 100 | 718-862-7363 | christina.cardinale@manhattan.edu

Students who enroll at Manhattan College will work with Student Financial Services (SFS) to discuss financing options, set up payment plans, process their private and federal loans, and get help with the verification process and any remaining financing details.  

Academic Advisors

Manhattan College offers more personal, one-on-one contact and support than most other colleges, including the service of an academic advisor, as well as faculty advisors.

School of Arts

Dianna Cruz
Miguel Hall 210 | 718-862-7956 | dianna.cruz@manhattan.edu

School of Business

Rhonda Shuler
De La Salle Hall 201 | 718-862-7439 | rhonda.shuler@manhattan.edu

School of Education

Loretta Wilkins
Miguel Hall 205 | 718-862-7291 | loretta.wilkins@manhattan.edu

School of Engineering

Richard Schneider
Leo Hall 201 | 718-862-7282 | richard.schneider@manhattan.edu

School of Science

Darcy Lis-Beglane
Hayden Hall 506 | 718-862-7721 | darcy.lis-beglane@manhattan.edu

Academic Support

Sandra Clayton-Emmerson, Academic Coach, Center for Academic Success
De La Salle Hall 206E | 718-862-7753 | sandra.emmerson@manhattan.edu

The Center for Academic Success provides programs and initiatives to help the learning experience of all students.  This includes peer tutoring, individual tutoring, study groups and online tutoring.  Your academic coach will help you focus on long-term and short-term goals, time-management, study skills, and test-taking strategies.

Library Liaison

Bernadette Lopez-Fitzsimmons, Librarian
O’Malley Library 306 | 718-862-7982 | bernadette.lopez@manhattan.edu 

Your library liaison will provide library information and research classes, personalized instruction, and workshops to help you maximize your college success.

Center for Career Development

Bernadette Hicks, Career Counselor
Miguel Hall 5th Floor |718-862-7965 | bernadette.hicks@manhattan.edu

The Center for Career Development offers numerous programs and resources to assist you with transitioning your academic experience into professional success. Each of Manhattan College's undergraduate schools has a dedicated career advisor who can provide guidance regarding choosing a major, career paths and job opportunities.

Center for Graduate School and Fellowship Advisement

Rani Roy, Director
Miguel Hall 5th Floor | 718-862-7755 | rani.roy@manhattan.edu

This center offers individualized advising, centralized resources and information, and programming for students interested in graduate school, research, and fellowship opportunities.

Specialized Resource Center

Anne Vaccaro, Director
Miguel Hall 304A | 718-862-7409 | anne.vaccaro@manhattan.edu

The Specialized Resource Center (SRC) serves all students with special needs including individuals with a temporary disability, such as those resulting from injury or surgery. The SRC is a resource for students, faculty and the college at large. Use of services is voluntary, strictly confidential and free of charge. The SRC strives to ensure educational opportunity for all students with special needs by providing access to full participation in all aspects of campus life.  There is no fee for SRC services, but student need to provide appropriate documentation.

Counseling Center

Terence Hannigan, Director 
Miguel Hall 501 | 718-862-7975 | terence.hannigan@manhattan.edu

The Counseling Center services are provided at no charge to help students reach their educational goals and work through any personal issues that are causing anxiety or distress. Regular office hours are 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m., but evening appointments are also available by request.   There are various types of assistance available, including short-term individual counseling, student groups that meet weekly, private consultation, crisis intervention, referrals to local mental health resources, substance abuse screening and referrals, and educational programs.

Student Veterans’ Club (VALOR)

Sandra Clayton-Emmerson, advisor
De La Salle Hall 206E | 718-862-7753 | sandra.emmerson@manhattan.edu

Raymond Leyden, student organizor 
rleyden.student@manhattan.edu

VALOR (Veterans Academic Learning Opportunities Realized), provides support through activities, special events, study groups, and other programs.  

Yellow Ribbon Program

Manhattan College participates in the Veteran's Affairs Yellow Ribbon GI Education Enhancement Program (Yellow Ribbon Program) to assist with funding tuition expenses for military veterans.