Student Government

Manhattan College Student Government plays a vital role in shaping student life on campus. The Student Government consists of the executive committee, student assembly and student court. Every representative serves his/her respective school or class. Being involved in Student Government gives you a chance to meet a variety of people, gain leadership training and grow as a student, leader and person. It also allows you to become friendly with administrators and faculty. There are both elected and appointed positions, with varying levels of commitment and responsibility to suit your schedule.

Class Representatives

Class representatives (or reps) represent the needs of their class and plan social events such as the Spring Fling (spring dinner-dance cruise around Manhattan), the Jasper Jingle (winter dance at a country club) and senior events. They also work with the social life commission in planning events throughout the year. Freshmen and dorm/commuter elections are scheduled to be held in September. Annual elections to be held in the spring.

Executive Committee

The executive committee consists of the student body president, executive vice president, vice president for social life, vice president for residential affairs, vice president for commuter affairs, vice president for finance, vice president for communication, vice president for club administration, vice president for academic affairs, chair of Lasallian action committee, and chair of campus improvements committee. They are the everyday officers of Student Government, carrying out the will of the assembly. They are also full voting members (with the exception of the president) of the assembly.

Student Court

The justices are appointed by the student body president and preside over cases referred to it by the dean of students, or her designee. These consist of residence hall write-ups, parking tickets, disciplinary incidents and complaints from students. There are six justices and one chief justice.

The Assembly

The assembly is the law-making body of Student Government. They draft and pass legislation, set and allocate the student activities fee, approve and oversee clubs and organizations, and may deliberate on all matters pertaining to students.

Additionally, without being elected to office, anyone can join these three committees: the social life commission, the resident student association and the commuter student association.

Social Life Commission

Responsible for planning a large majority of all social events on and off campus, including Springfest, Manhattan Madness, Broadway shows, sporting events, concerts, Movies in the City, adventure trips and other social activities. Anyone can join this commission by talking to the vice president for social life.

Resident Student Association

The resident student association represents resident students in all matters that come up, most notably food complaints, residence hall problems, parking problems, meal plan disputes and other residents’ issues. They also plan social events such as family day, late-night breakfast and stress-free zones. Anyone interested can contact the vice president for residential affairs.

Commuter Student Association

The commuter student association represents commuters in all matters which come up, most notably lounge issues, parking problems, locker issues and other commuter issues. They also plan social events such as commuter barbecues, stress-free zones and many others. Anyone interested can contact the vice president for commuter affairs.

Student Government Executive Committee 2016–2017

Student Body President Dorian Persaud
Executive Vice President Michael Szczech
Vice President for Social Life Allison Ready
Vice President for Residential Affairs Olivia Siller
Vice President for Commuter Affairs Micaela Bishop
Vice President for Finance Matthew Mattera
Vice President for Communication Allie Yamashiro
Vice President for Academic Affairs Nicole Fella
Vice President for Club Administration Kaitlyn Greiner

Student Government Assembly 2016-2017

Senior Class Representatives: Sean Potter and Madison Swenton

Junior Class Representative: Alannah Boyle

Sophomore Class Representatives: Megan Haber and Alexander Constantine

Freshmen Class Representatives: N/A

Commuter Representative: N/A

School of Liberal Arts Representatives: Kyle Clancy and Timothy Gress

School of Engineering Representative: LisaMarie Nilaj

School of Science Representative: Elizabeth Bruchansky

School of Education Representative: Kaitlyn Von Runnen

Student Court

Chief Justice: Sean Sonnemann

Associate Justice: Emily Garren

Associate Justice: Victoria Cruz

Associate Justice: Anthony DePinho

Associate Justice: Matthew Clark

Associate Justice: N/A

Associate Justice: N/A

Sergeants at Arms: N/A

Secretary: N/A

Neighborhood Relations Committee

Chairman: N/A

Member: N/A

Member: N/A

Board of Trustees Student Members

Development: Mahamoud Diop and Alannah Boyle

Enrollment Management: Maria Nieto and Christoher Hoey

Student Life: Sean Potter

Strategic Planning: Allison Ready and Andrew Fontaine

Facilities: LisaMarie Nilaj and Brian Nyarko

Finance: Alex Morocho and Matthew Mattera

Academic Affairs: George Schlinck and Shane Mcdevitt


Speaker of the Senate: Matthew Jura

All officers can be contacted at, and

Student Government Constitution and Bylaws