School of Engineering Faculty and Student Accomplishments: May 2013

View the accomplishments of the School of Engineering faculty and students during the last few months of the spring semester.

Faculty and Student Accomplishments

Alex Bertuccio ’11,’12, an adjunct instructor in the chemical engineering department, will have his paper “Shale Gas Conversion” published in a special issue of the Journal of Catalysis later this year. 

The American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) of New York will present Brian Krieger ’14 (STV Inc.), a civil engineering major; Alexandra Natchev ’14 (Syska Hennessy Group, Inc.), a civil engineering major; Brendan Page ’14 (Stantec Consulting Services Inc.), a civil engineering major; Matthew Post (Weidlinger Associates, Inc.) ’14, a civil engineering major; and Matthew Sangen (AECOM) ’14, a civil engineering major; each with $2,500 scholarships on May 21. 
Chemical engineering majors Joe Aquilina ’15 (team member), Xiaoshen Bai ’13 (vice leader), Sarah Boisvert ’14 (team member), Vincent DeVita ’13 (vice leader and master’s student), Sebastian Garcia ’15 (team member), Eugene Heerschap ’15 (team member), Douglas Montazella ’15 (team member), Demos Pappas ’13 (team leader and master’s student), Gregory Perrier ’15 (team member) and Shiran Zhavian ’13 (vice leader and master’s student) received first price in the material science category of chemical engineering at The New York State Society of Professional Engineers 2013 Engineering EXPO. In addition, Sarah Boisvert ’14 (team leader), Demos Pappas ’13 (vice leader and master’s student) and Gregory Perrier ’15 (vice leader) earned second prize for a water purification technology project presented at the EXPO. Gennaro J. Maffia, Ph.D, professor of chemical engineering, was the adviser on both projects.
Alberto Morgante ’13, a civil engineering major, and Anirban De, Ph.D., P.E., an associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, recently traveled to Capitol Hill to participate in “Posters on the Hill.” Sponsored by the Council on Undergraduate Research, the competition is designed to bring congressional delegates up-to-speed on some of the most cutting-edge federally funded academic projects.
Under the guidance of his adviser De, Morgante presented his latest research on how to build bomb-resistant tunnels in a post-9/11 era. For the past year, both have been building miniature models of underground tunnels and, with the help of explosives specialists, they’ve exposed those models to blasts in order to test their durability. Read more about their research
During their trip to Washington D.C., Morgante and De visited the offices of Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) and Congressman Eliot L. Engel (D-NY 16th District). In addition, they met with Congressman Bill Owens ’71 (D-NY 21st District) and Congressman Paul D. Tonko (D-NY 20th District) at the poster session.
Along with being a recipient of the American Society of Civil Engineers’ Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award, Tim J. Ward, Ph.D., P.E., dean of the School of Engineering, will also be recognized as a fellow of the ASCE’s Environmental and Water Resources Institute at the World Environmental & Water Resources Congress on May 19.
On April 18, Shiran Zhavia, a chemical engineering master’s student, won the International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE) student poster competition. Zhavia presented her poster “Development of Porous Metal Structures for Artificial Bone Growth” at the ISPE meeting in New Brunswick, N.J. 
On April 30, 12 students participated in a mock trial under the guidance of Patricia Sheridan, J.D., assistant professor of business law and faculty moderator of the Law Society, and Robert Ellis, J.D., adjunct professor of business law. The students broke into two teams and argued a case involving a fight between two hockey players that erupted during a competitive game. The two teams included William Boese ’15, an economics major; Michelle DePinho ’16, a civil engineering major; Andrew Hill ’13, an accounting major; Kylie Knee ’16, an art history major; Patrick Metcalf ’15, a chemical engineering major; Caroline Magalhaes ’15, an economics major; Gabriela Remache ’16, an international studies major; Richard Roman ’14, a finance major; Sebastian Stopka ’14, a finance major and secretary of the Thomas More Law Society; Hannah Turnbull ’13, a finance major and treasurer of the Thomas More Law Society; Patrick Warren ’15, a government major; and Joel Wright ’14, a finance major and chair of the Thomas More Law Society.